top of page

Before Google Reflection


Google has become so common in our modern society that it’s almost a given solution for everything. Google is our sidekick and right-hand man. I can’t even think of a day when I haven’t googled something. However, what many of us seem to be forgetting is that not very long ago, there was a time when Google didn’t exist. We had to reference these ancient things called books and documents to be able to get needed answers. Because I have used Google for everything, I knew that more than likely, it would be difficult to find a photo that was so old, it wouldn’t be on the internet. I had to sit down to really think about if, even with all of our resources, there really was a picture out there that was too old and too precious to be on Google. I researched at a few different Emory libraries and while I did find rare pieces of literature, I could never be truly certain that they weren’t on Google because the internet is such a vast place and I wouldn’t know where to start with tracking them down. I thought I was pretty much at a loss until I remembered the Gregorian chant scriptures that were under glass protection in one of the libraries. Last year, I tried taking pictures of them and my music professor told me to not use flash because the light would damage them. I realized that this was one of those treasured items that would never be found pictured on the internet because no photos would ever do the originals justice. I felt pride in knowing that I was one of not many that can say they saw the scriptures in person. Because they’re so well protected, most people probably don’t know they exist and will never find the exact image of them on Google. The photos found on Google today are mass produced and replicated so nothing feels special anymore. With the scriptures, people are literally holding a piece of history in their hands (or scrolls). While Google has brought efficiency and simplicity, there are not many things that will ever beat seeing ancient items that can only ever be seen in person.


bottom of page