top of page

"I'm a Good Girl": Christina Aguilera reflection

To be honest, before this class, I had never heard of Christina Aguilera, thus I knew nothing about her music. From the music set given to us, I then found out that she is a pop singer who sings kind of similar to Lady Gaga( because I do not know how to specifically describe and judge her style and I do not listen to American music too much). So the song I want to analyze from the list is the one named "I'm a good girl".

From the title of this song, I found out that this song belongs to a film named "Burlesque". I have not seen this film before so I do not want to judge it, but understanding some of its plot might help to analyze this song better. From the music video of song, we can see that the actress is dancing in somewhere like a club. It is in a kind of retro style, which could remind me of many songs from last century. The actress in the movie video is showing off her body, flirting to customers and claiming that "I am a good girl". Of course I do not believe she is actually a good girl according to her behaviors. Therefore, I think I can put this type of music to Lieb's category "temptress". This music video contains some sexual elements and sexual connotation but not that obvious and straightforward. The actress's custom is kind of sexy, and the lyrics indicate salient sexual elements, especially for its ending part. So this is why I categorize this as belonging to "temptress". But from the angle of the film, I do not think the theme of this song is actually about the claim of a temptress because the film is delivering something positive. I think this may be an irony of the actress's current condition that she hopes to be a good girl but has to do something like this to favor customers. This might be a yearning for good life.

The comments about this music video are diverse. One commented that "The way she says I am a good girl sounds like she's a bad girl". I think this is the most straightforward feeling of music video for most of people including me. I do not think this is a criticism of this music video. There are many comments which are about the praise of the film "Burlesque", such as "seriously the most underrated movie" and "Christina as she was in burlesque might be the most beautiful woman on the planet". Based on these compliments of this film, I think I may find this film to watch at someday I am not busy. This could be a good film that should not be missed. And there are also some comments about LGBTQ people. Since I do not know much about this film, I cannot understand the purpose of these comments. I think I can have a better understanding after watching this film.

As a result, "I'm a good girl" may not be a music video which conveys negative information if considering its related film. Sometimes we may need some addition information when judging a song.


bottom of page